A List of Sidney Prizes You Should Know About

Whether you are looking to enter an international competition or simply want to keep up to date with what’s going on in your local community, a sidney prize can be a great way to stay informed. These prizes are often given out in a variety of different categories, and can be used to honor people for everything from promoting peace to raising funds for important causes. The following is a list of some of the more notable sidney prizes that you should know about.

The Andrew Gemant prize is awarded annually to a person who connects art, the media, and literature to science. The award is named after a prominent physicist who worked to bridge the cultural, artistic, and humanistic dimension of physics. This year’s winner is a renowned scholar and author who has written numerous books, exhibited his work in museums, and presented his research to the public through a wide range of media. The winning article will be published in a future issue of the journal and will be presented at the Society for the History of Technology (SHOT) annual meeting.

Yeena Kirkbright has won the Neilma Sydney short story prize for her piece titled “Camperdown Grief Junk.” The prize is open to all Overland readers and subscribers, and the winning entry will be published in Overland’s summer 2023 edition. You can find more information about the contest and submission guidelines on the Overland website.

Awarded in memory of Professor Sidney Cox, this prize recognizes undergraduate writing that most closely adheres to the high standards of originality and integrity which he established for himself and his students. This year’s winner was Sophia Jactel for her essay, “Domesticity and Diversions: Josef Israels’ The Smoker as a Symbol of Peasant Culture and Home in Nineteenth-Century Holland.”

The Sydney Peace Prize is an honour given to a nominee who has promoted “peace with justice” and non-violence. The winner of the Sydney Peace Prize will be announced in November this year. The movement Black Lives Matter, founded by Patrisse Cullors and Alicia Garza, has been nominated for the prize several times in the past.

Unlike many of today’s journalists, Sidney sought out the truth and was not afraid to challenge the status quo. His tenacity and commitment to reporting on the common good have left an imprint that continues to this day through scholarships and professorships in his name at Hamilton College.

The Sydney Peace Prize is an annual prize awarded to a person or group who has promoted peace with justice and non-violence. The winners of the Sydney Peace Prize are nominated by the community and voted on by the City of Sydney Council. Previous winners have included Australian Prime Minister Malcolm Turnbull, and Nobel Peace Laureate Mary Robinson. The prize will be formally presented later this year by Lord Mayor Clover Moore. The winner of the prize will use it to promote and support activities that benefit the Sydney community.